The Peter Sellers Tape

The Beatles







Note: The packaging lists this as SP-104, but the matrix on the CD version has it as SP-103.


sp104small.jpg (6197 bytes)

sp104purplebacksmall.jpg (9772 bytes)

sp104backsmall.jpg (11008 bytes)

Front Cover

Back Cover (purple)

Back Cover (white)

There are also two different versions of the back cover: purple and white.



Jewel Case Insert:

The jewel case insert has the following information:

- Track notes about this release (reproduced below)


13 Tracks - Total Time: 43:53

1. Back In The U.S.S.R.   (2:56)
2. Rocky Raccoon   (3:53)
3. Wild Honey Pie   (1:15)
4. Mother Nature's Son   (2:52)
5. Sexy Sadie   (3:55)
6. Don't Pass Me By   (5:06)
7. "Chat, Applause, Effects And African Music From Ringo" / Yer Blues    (5:51)
8. Good Night   (3:05)
9. Everybody's Got Something To Hide Except For Me And My Monkey    (2:26)
10. Ob-la-di Ob-la-da   (3:27)
11. Blackbird   (2:24)
12. Not Guilty   (4:14)
13. Peter Sellers Talks With The Beatles During The Get Back Sessions    (2:29)


Case Back Text:

The Peter Sellers tape was recorded by Ringo for Sellers during the White Album sessions and consists of early and, in most cases, different mono mixes of that material.  It was sold at a Phillips auction in 1988 for over $3000. We present it here for much less than half that amount and we hope you enjoy it!


Track Notes:

1. Back In The U.S.S.R.  22/23 August '68, EMI; Take 6.
Unique mono remix.  Essentially identical to the released version, except that the jet noises at the very end are different.
2. Rocky Raccoon  15 August '68, EMI; Take 10, Mono Remix 1.
Identical to the commercial version. There is a very brief bit at the start where John and Paul sing about half a dozen words of an unknown song.
3. Wild Honey Pie  20 August '68, EMI; Take 1, Mono Remix 6.
Identical to the CV, but without one second of studio chat at the beginning and the end.
4. Mother Nature's Son  9/20 August '68, EMI; Take 26. Mono Remix 8.
Identical to commercial version.
5. Sexy Sadie  13/21 August '68, EMI; Take 117.
Identical to the CV up to the fade, which is almost forty seconds longer.  The missing material was edited out, but when? The CV is mono remix 5;  This is either the original RM 5, or an earlier mix.
6. Don't Pass Me By 5/6/12/22 July '68, EMI;  Take 7, with edit piece.
Although the mix is very much the same, this version contains an extra verse.   On the CV, after Ringo's count from 1 to 8, we get a chorus and a fade.  Here, we get another verse (same lyrics as verse 1), chorus and fade.
7a. Chat, Applause, Effects And African Music From Ringo
7b. Yer Blues  13/20 August '68, EMI; Edit of edit piece and takes 16 & 17.
The first part (up to 3:17) of the song is from take 17; The last part is from take 16 (itself a reduction of take 6); Ringo's count-in was recorded on August 20 and edited on.
8. Good Night  22 July '68, EMI; Take 34.
There are two obvious differences between this and the CV. The first, it is slightly shorter (about two measures have been removed after the second verse, just before Ringo begins to hum). Second, there are children's voices at the end where he wishes everybody "goodnight."  Because the orchestration is so incredibly lush, it is impossible to detect any significant differences between the two.  The song was mono mixed for the LP on 11 October, but there were also six mono mixes at the end of the 23 July sessions, and this is most likely RM 6 from that session.
9. Everybody's Got Something To Hide Except For Me And My Monkey   27 June 1 & 23 July '68, EMI; Take 23.
Identical to the CV except for very slight differences in backing vocals which are attributed to mixing. The CV would have been mono remix 5, so this may be an earlier version.
10. Ob-la-di Ob-la-da  8/9/11/15 July '68, EMI; Take 23.
There are a few interesting differences between this and the CV. The tape begins with a few seconds of chat and riffs, there hand claps during the intro (the mono CV does not have them, although the stereo CV does), and at the very end, after John says "thank you," he adds, "I'm sure."  There was a final mono mix for the LP version on 12 October, so this is probably the last remix from 15 July, MR 21.
11. Blackbird  11 June '68, EMI; Take 32.
There are a few differences between this and the CV.  The most obvious is the lack of bird noises.  Aside from that, there are a few extra notes on the acoustic guitar intro and a slight echo on Paul's voice (also the little voice that says "play" at the very beginning is missing).
12. Not Guilty  8/9/12 August '68, EMI; Take 102, with count in.
This brings us to a total of four different mixes of take 102.  The first and presumably earliest, is this mono mix.
13. Peter Sellers Talks With The Beatles During The Get Back Sessions


controlpanel.gif (43062 bytes)

How did Vigotone achieve its high
level of quality?  Click here to find out!
What's the deal between Vigotone CDs and CDRs?  Click here for some info on this subject.
Fake Vigotones are flooding the market!  Click here for some info on this important subject!

    Do you want to see scans of the discs themselves, or learn how to distinguish a real Vigotone from a fake? Click here!
Click here to see some original Vigotone dealer brochures.

Write to me here:  vigotonefan (at) hotmail (dot) com